Convergence of G-22 on Modalities at WTO

Posted on    26 November 2009

Convergence of G-22 on Modalities at WTO

The G-20 is a group of developing countries which came together on 20 August 2003. The G-20 has been a driving force and works towards ambitious reforms of agriculture in developed countries with some flexibility for developing countries, thus working towards protection of interests of poor farmers.

There is broad convergence within the G-20 on the issue of special flexibilities for developing countries like lower tariff cuts, longer time limits for implementation. Its technical contributions and its political commitment have helped advance the negotiations towards the common goal of eliminating the trade-distorting policies maintained by developed countries.

India, as a member of the G-20, has maintained that promoting the interests of its low income and resource poor farmers is a key priority. India is working intensively with the G-20 to keep pressure up on developed countries to seek effective cuts in OTDS, to bring about effective disciplines on green box domestic support; not to allow creation of new tariff rate quotas (TRQs), not to allow expansion of tariff quota on sensitive products, for elimination of the Special Safeguard (SSG) and for 100% tariff simplification and also for tariff capping in developed countries.

This information was given by Shri Jyotiraditya M. Scindia, Minister of State for Commerce and Industry, in a written reply in the Rajya Sabha today.

The G-20 Group comprises 23 member countries: 5 from Africa (Egypt, Nigeria, South Africa, Tanzania and Zimbabwe), 6 from Asia (China, India, Indonesia, Pakistan, Philippines and Thailand) and 12 from Latin America (Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Cube, Ecuador, Guatemala, Mexico, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela)

views  3720

Other latest News :